Early detection

According to the World Health Organization, the screening operation is defined as being a collective measure of public health, watchfully worked out so as to lead at identifying should the case occur, a disease or an anomaly yet ignored by persons considered as totally healthy till they passed through screening. Thus the early detection is an operation covering all of the population, people who can at random present a risky anomaly due to a hidden disease.

The aim of this cancer screening campaign is to identify premature cases prior to cancer development and even precancerous lesions at a curable stage, by using affordable and reliable screening tests presenting no danger and accepted by the largest number of persons. The outcome of these tests is to separate the healthy persons from those who could possibly be developing a cancer and who need more detailed examinations.

The early diagnosis consists in diagnosing cancer forerunners and first symptoms to ease the diagnosis before the malady is at an advanced stage, so that a lighter and more effective treatment can be applied. In other words, the aim of the early screening is to detect cancers at a curability stage to decrease their mortality rate by using means of diagnosis apt to cover the largest number of persons with a much less aggressive therapy.

The early detection is a very important prevention measure in the reduction of certain cancers’ incidence. Thanks to a battery of efficient programs of information, screening, early diagnosis and to the therapeutic care, the mortality rate and the proportion of people affected by cancer can be reduced by the third.

Early detection

In Morocco, the National Cancer Prevention and Control Plan (NCPCP) set up as a strategic priority the early detection of the breast and cervix cancers.

To be effective, the activities of early detection of the breast and cervix cancers must be integrated into the national health system, which is split in three levels of intervention: 

Level 1: health centers, general practitioners’ offices.

Level 2: district and province hospitals, diagnostic centers, specialists’ offices and private hospitals.

Level 3: university hospitals, regional centers of oncology, private ward cancer hospitals.

Détection précoce

Selon l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé, le dépistage est défini comme étant une action collective de santé publique minutieusement préparée permettant l’identification d’une maladie ou d’une anomalie non connues chez des sujets considérés comme indemnes. C’est une action dirigée vers toute la population, supposée être exposée au risque de présenter une anomalie en faveur d’une maladie donnée. 

 
L’objectif du dépistage des cancers est d’identifierdes cas précocement voire des lésions précancéreuses à un stade de meilleure curabilité par l'utilisation de tests de dépistage abordables, fiables, sans danger et acceptés par le plus grand nombre de personnes. Le résultat de ces tests est de séparer les personnes saines de personnes pouvant potentiellement être atteintes de cancer et pour lesquelles d'autres examens plus approfondis sont nécessaires.
 
Le diagnostic précoce consiste à diagnostiquer des signes précurseurs et symptômes du cancer afin de faciliter le diagnostic avant que le mal ne soit à un stade avancé, ce qui permet un traitement plus léger et plus efficace.Plus spécifiquement, l’objectif du diagnostic précoce est de détecter les cancers à un stade de curabilité en vue de diminuer la mortalité liée au cancer en utilisant des moyens de diagnostic susceptibles d'être proposés à un grand nombre de personnes et un traitement moins agressif.
 
Les activités de détection précoce sont très importantes dans la réduction de l’incidence de certains cancers. Grâce à des programmes efficients d’information, de dépistage, de diagnostic précoce et à une prise en charge thérapeutique, la morbidité et la mortalité liées à certains cancers peuvent être réduites du tiers. 

Détection précoce

Au Maroc, le Plan National de Prévention et de Contrôle du Cancer (PNPCC) a retenu parmi ses priorités stratégiques la détection précoce des cancers du sein et du col de l’utérus.

Pour être efficace, les activités de détection précoce des cancers du sein et du col utérin doivent être intégrées dans le système de santé national. Ce dernier se compose de trois niveaux d’intervention : 
 
Niveau 1 : centres de santé, cabinets des médecins généralistes.
Niveau 2 : hôpitaux préfectoraux et provinciaux, centres de diagnostic, cabinets et cliniques des médecins spécialistes.
Niveau 3 : centres hospitaliers universitaires, centres régionaux d’oncologie, cliniques privées d’oncologie