Breast cancer

The breast cancer is very frequent, and is at the top of the list for the cancers that still kill too many women worldwide.

In spite of the research progress which dissected the development mechanisms of most cancers, the causes of the breast cancer are not that well known up to date. Nevertheless the different studies brought to light some risk factors that could favor the breast cancer, and how to reduce this risk by adopting a healthy lifestyle.

  • Risk factors
  • Prevention
  • Warning symptoms
  • Early Detection
  • Treatment
  • Related Links
Breast cancer

 

Risk factors

• The critical period is between 45 and 75 years old. As in most cases of chronic diseases, the risk of developing a breast cancer does increase while growing in age.

• Family or genetic factors: precedents of breast cancer in the family, mainly on the mother's side (grandmother, mother, aunt or sister)

• Individual’s own characteristics: hormonal risk (advanced teenage puberty, late menopause, late primiparous pregnancy)

• Tobacco consumption, excessive alcohol drinking, etc.

• Overweight or obesity after menopause, as only 20 kilos more are enough to double the risk of developing a breast cancer

• Contraceptive pill. Studies proved that the use without prescription nor medical survey of certain oral contraceptives slightly increases the risk of developing a breast cancer for women on the pill for more than 4 years.

• Exposure to carcinogenic chemicals. The fact of being in touch with the chemicals present in the environment (organochloride pesticides DDT, parabens, etc.) could be a pattern for breast cancer, though the causal link is still not clearly identified.

 

Prevention

A healthy-living routine (physical exercise, a sound food including enough vegetables and fruits, quitting smoking, etc.) as well as the preservation of a reasonable weight, all these factors seem to contribute in reducing the risk of most cancers among which the breast cancer.

Breast self examination is recommended, and should be carefully done at least once a month:

- Around one week after period, the perfect time during the menstrual cycle when the bosoms are neither sensitive, nor inflated

- The first day of the month for the post-menopausal women.

If an anomaly is detected while proceeding to the breast self examination, it has to be immediately reported to the family doctor or to have it checked in the closest healthcare center as soon as possible.

 

Warning symptoms

The breast cancer appears mostly by a painless bump first, either in the bosom itself or in the armpit, the other warning signs possibly being:

a bump or a swelling under the armpit;

a modification in the bosoms’ size or shape;

dimples or folds appearing in the skin, thickening or puckering of the skin also called "cottage cheese";

a flushing, a swelling or an increasing heat in the affected breast;

an inverted nipple, that means an upside-down nipple turned towards the inside of the bosom;

a crust or a desquamation on the nipple.

 

Early diagnosis

Besides saving lives, the early diagnosis for the breast cancer can avoid mutilating surgeries such as the total ablation of the breast (mastectomy).

Up to date, the mammography is actually the most effective means to diagnose earlier breast cancers because it screens even small calcifications possibly being precancerous lesions or tumors not exceeding one centimeter and clinically undetectable. The diagnosis is exact in 90% of the cases, and can be completed by a mammary scan to assert the nature of the mammary cysts and to check dense bosoms. If needed, the diagnosis is concluded by biopsies.

 

Treatment

Surgery

The surgery is often the first step for cancer treatment as the act of surgery aims at removing the cancerous tumor. In case of breast cancer, it will be a mastectomy, which can be segmental (only a part of the breast is removed) or total (the entire breast is removed). Quasi systematically, a surgery of the armpit lymph nodes is added. Among other factors, the decision to practice a partial or a total mastectomy depends on the size of the tumor and its position in the breast. The preference of the woman is taken into account too.

 

Radiotherapy

The partial mastectomy is generally followed by radiotherapy in order to destroy the cancer cells possibly remaining in the breast and reduces the risk of a tumor reappearing.

In case of total mastectomy, the radiotherapy is not always necessary.

 

Chemotherapy

To treat cancers, the chemotherapy uses a certain kind of medicines called antineoplastic conscripts. For the breast cancer, chemotherapy is usually administered after the surgery, aiming at destroying the cancer cells which would have propagated from the main tumor. The choice of beginning or not chemotherapy depends on the evolution stage of the disease.

 

Liens utiles

Le cancer du sein

Le cancer du sein est très fréquent, c’est le premier cancer féminin responsable d’une mortalité élevée à travers le monde.

Malgré les progrès qui ont permis de mieux connaître les mécanismes de développement des cancers, les causes du cancer du sein ne sont actuellement pas connues. Néanmoins les études ont mis en évidence certains facteurs de risque qui favorisent un cancer du sein et une bonne hygiène de vie permet de réduire le risque.

Le cancer du sein

 

Facteurs de risque 

l’âge compris entre 45 et 75 ans. Comme pour la plupart des maladies chroniques, le risque d’avoir un cancer du sein augmente avec l’âge.

les facteurs familiaux ou génétiques : la présence de cas de cancer du sein dans la famille particulièrement du côté maternel (grand-mère, mère, tante ou sœur),

les caractéristiques propres à l’individu : le risque hormonal (puberté précoce, ménopause tardive, âge tardif de la première grossesse…)

la consommation exagérée d’alcool, la consommation de tabac etc.

le surplus de poids ou l’obésité après la ménopause. Un gain de poids de 20 kg ou plus double le risque de cancer du sein

l’utilisation de la pilule contraceptive. Certaines études démontrent que la prise de contraceptifs oraux (la pilule contraceptive achetée sans prescription médicale) accroît très légèrement le risque de cancer du sein chez les femmes qui les utilisent durant plus de 4 ans. 

l’exposition à des produits chimiques cancérigènes. Le fait d’être en contact avec des produits chimiques présents dans l’environnement (les pesticides organochlorés (DDT), les parabènes, etc.) pourrait contribuer à la formation d’un cancer du sein. Le lien de cause à effet est cependant très difficile à établir.

 

Prévention

Les bonnes habitudes de vie (exercice physique, saine alimentation comprenant suffisamment de légumes et de fruits, arrêt du tabagisme, etc.) et le maintien d’un poids santé contribuent à réduire le risque de plusieurs types de cancers, incluant le cancer du sein.

L'autopalpation des seins. Il faut qu'il soit pratiqué une fois par mois :

- une semaine environ après les règles, car normalement dans cette période du cycle menstruel, les seins ne sont ni sensibles, ni gonflés

- chez la femme ménopausée : le premier jour du mois.

A la suite de cette autopalpation des vos seins, si vous découvrez la présence d'une anomalie consultez rapidement votre médecin ou adressez vous au centre de santé de base le plus proche.

 

Symptômes

La plupart du temps, le cancer du sein se manifeste d’abord par une bosse sans douleur dans le sein ou l’aisselle. Les autres signes possibles sont entre autres :

une bosse ou une enflure au niveau de l’aisselle;

une modification de la taille ou de la forme des seins;

l’apparition de fossettes ou de plis dans la peau – l’épaississement ou le capitonnage de la peau est parfois appelé « peau d’orange »;

une rougeur, une enflure ou une chaleur accrue dans le sein affecté;

un mamelon inversé, c’est-à-dire tourné vers l’intérieur;

une croûte ou une desquamation sur le mamelon.

 

Diagnostic précoce

Le diagnostic précoce du cancer du sein peut en outre permettre d’éviter des traitements mutilants comme l’ablation totale du sein (mastectomie).

 
La mammographie est actuellement le moyen le plus efficace du dépistage précoce des cancers du sein car il permet, même le dépistage de calcifications synonymes de lésions précancéreuses ou de tumeurs mesurant un centimètre non décelables cliniquement. Le diagnostic est exact dans 90 % des cas. Elle peut être complétée par une échographie mammaire qui permet d'affirmer la nature de la masse comme les kystes mammaires et en cas de seins denses. Le diagnostic est complété par des biopsies.
 

Traitement

Chirurgie

La chirurgie est souvent le premier traitement entrepris. Elle sert à enlever la tumeur cancéreuse. Dans le cas du cancer du sein, elle se nomme mastectomie. La mastectomie est partielle ou segmentaire (une partie du sein est enlevée) ou totale (tout le sein est retiré). On y ajoute presque toujours une chirurgie aux ganglions lymphatiques de l’aisselle. Le choix du type de mastectomie repose entre autres sur la taille de la tumeur, son type et son emplacement dans le sein. La préférence de la femme est aussi prise en compte.

 

Radiothérapie

La mastectomie partielle doit généralement être suivie de radiothérapie afin de détruire lescellules cancéreuses qui pourraient être demeurées dans le sein. Elle réduit le risque qu’une tumeur réapparaisse.

En cas de mastectomie totale, la radiothérapie n’est pas toujours nécessaire. 

 

Chimiothérapie

La chimiothérapie utilise une classe de médicaments, appelés antinéoplasiques, pour traiter les cancers. Pour le cancer du sein, elle est habituellement administrée après la chirurgie. Elle permet de détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui se seraient échappées de la tumeur principale. Le choix d’entreprendre ou non une chimiothérapie dépend du stade d’évolution de la maladie.
 

Liens utiles