Importance of the screening

In Morocco, breast and cervix cancers constitute a burning issue for the public health. They are the most frequent as they represent approximately half of the cancers affecting the women and are in general diagnosed in very late stages, thus delaying their therapeutic care and complicating their cure.

Since the implementation of the NCPCP in 2010, national-scale operations of breast cancer screening are regularly carried out everywhere throughout the Kingdom, whilst that of the cervix cancer is fully operational in six regions but will be widened to all the Basic Healthcare Centers by five years at the very latest.

Furthermore, early diagnosis services for these two cancers are already available in all the reference centers of reproductive health.

To date, all the types of treatments (chemotherapy, radiotherapy and surgery) have been standardized by formal procedures and are equally provided in the different oncology centers.

Screening tests and core target people

The Moroccan programs of early screening set up the clinical breast examination and the cervical visual inspection with acetic acid as the screening tests to be used in breast and cervix cancers early detection. They are receivable, reliable and not that expensive.

The catchment population for the breast cancer screening is the group of women between 45 and 69 years old, as well as the women having breast cancer cases in their family history (grandmother, mother, aunt, sister). Are excluded from the program the women who already passed through breast cancer. To be totally safe and protected against breast cancer, every woman should redo the breast screening every year, or at least every other year if the result of the previous test is negative.

The target population for the cervix cancer screening concerns all the 30-year-old women till at least over 49 years old. The pregnant women from the 8th week as well as those who already passed through cervix cancer are prohibited from screening. The aim of such screening is to detect the precancerous lesions if any, to treat these lesions as soon as possible and to eliminate hence the risk of a cervix cancer appearance. To be totally safe and protected against breast cancer, women must redo the cervical screening every three years provided that the result of the previous test was negative.

Importance du dépistage

Au Maroc, les cancers du sein et du col utérin constituent un véritable problème de santé publique, ils sont les plus fréquents car ils représentent environ 5 cancers sur 10 chez la femme. Ils sont diagnostiqués à des stades très tardifs ce qui retarde leur prise en charge thérapeutique et rend difficile leur guérison.

Depuis la mise en œuvre du PNPCC en 2010,  le cancer du sein fait l’objet d'un dépistage à l’échelle nationale, celui du cancer cervical est proposé au niveau de six régions et sera étendu à l’ensemble des Etablissements de soins de santé de Base d’ici maximum cinq ans.
 
Les services de diagnostic précoce de ces deux cancers sont actuellement disponibles au niveau des centres de référence de santé reproductive.
 
Tous les types de traitements (chimiothérapie, radiothérapie et chirurgie) sont actuellement standardisés sous forme de protocoles et sont possibles dans les différents centres d’oncologie.
 
Tests de dépistage et population cible 
 
L’examen clinique des seins et l’inspection visuelle du col avec l’acide acétique sont les tests de dépistage des cancers du sein et du col utérin retenus par le programme marocain de détection précoce des cancers. Ils sont acceptables, peu onéreux et sont fiables.
 
La population cible pour le dépistage du cancer du sein est représentée par toutes les femmes âgées de 45 ans à 69 ans révolus ainsi que les femmes ayant un antécédent familial de cancer du sein (grand-mère, mère, tante, sœur). Sont exclues du programme toutes les femmes ayant déjà eu un cancer du sein. Pour assurer une bonne couverture et une bonne efficacité du dépistage du cancer du sein, ledépistage doit être refait tous les ans ou au minimum tous les deux ans si le résultat du test antérieur est négatif.
 
La population cible pour le dépistage du cancer du col de l’utérus concerne toutes les femmes âgées de 30 ans à 49 ans révolus. Sont exclues du programme, les femmes ayant déjà eu un cancer du col de l’utérus et les femmes enceintes à partir de la 8ème semaine. L’objectif de ce dépistage est détecter des lésions précancéreuses, de les traiter et d’éviter l’apparition d’un cancer cervical.Pour assurer une bonne couverture et une bonne efficacité du dépistage du cancer du col, ledépistage doit être refait tous les troisans si le résultat du test antérieur est négatif.