Warning against tobacco’s harms

A long list of cancers and diseases is imputable to the use of tobacco, lung cancer in head, but also cardiovascular and respiratory severe trouble.

Warning against tobacco’s harms

 

Tobacco and cancer

Tobacco is the first known cause for:

- Lung cancer,

- Upper aero-digestive tract cancers affecting different organs (mouth, pharynx, larynx and esophagus),

- Bladder cancer,

- Pancreas cancer,

and is also partly responsible for most cancers of the urinary tract and kidneys, the cervical, the stomach, the pancreas... only by eliminating tobacco, the deaths due to cancer would drop by a third!

Tobacco and cardiovascular diseases

Tobacco is the worst enemy of the heart and the blood vessels. It prepares the ground to heart attacks and particularly to myocardial infarction, mainly by accelerating the vascular ageing and increasing the frequency of the strokes or cerebrovascular accidents (CVA).

Tobacco and lung affections

The chronic bronchitis, very frequent to the smokers, ends in a progressive deterioration of the respiratory function. The waking-up morning cough and the breathlessness in effort are the main alarms. As for the asthmatics, the tobacco is a worsening factor.

Woman and tobacco: harmful effects

The tobacco affects the fertility, acts on the feminine hormonal balance and disturbs the cycle of the woman who smokes. The contraceptive pill would never be prescribed to smokers over 35 years because of the risks of cardiovascular accidents. The tobacco is cause of early menopause and increases the risk of osteoporosis. Furthermore, the therapeutic effect of the menopause replacement therapies is decreased.

Second-hand smokers: passive smoking

The negative effects of the passive smoking on the non-smokers’ health are now proved and much better known. The damages are beyond doubt for smokers’ kids and children, who become susceptible hosts to respiratory and ENT infections (nasopharyngitis, earache), asthma and chronic respiratory trouble. As to the adults, the passive smoking seems to be one of the most important risk factors leading to cardiovascular diseases or lung cancers.

http://www.who.int/topics/tobacco/fr/

http://www.ligue-cancer.net/article/prevenir-et-depister/reduire-les-risques

http://www.e-cancer.fr/prevention/facteurs-de-risque-et-de-protection/tabac/

http://www.cancer.ca/Canada-wide/Prevention/Smoking%20and%20tobacco/Why%20should%20I%20quit/Smoking%20and%20cancer.aspx?sc_lang=fr-ca

http://www.e-sante.fr/tabac-cancer

http://www.doctissimo.fr/html/dossiers/tabac/sa_7405_tabac_mefaits_sante.htm

Prévenir contre les méfaits du tabac

Le tabac est à l'origine d'une longue liste de cancers, le cancer du poumon arrivant en tête, de maladies cardiovasculaires et de maladies respiratoires. 

Prévenir contre les méfaits du tabac
 
  • Tabac et cancer

Le tabac est la plus importante de toutes les causes connues du cancer :
- Cancer du poumon,
- Cancer des voies aérodigestives supérieures selon la localisation (bouche, pharynx, larynx et oesophage),
- Cancer de la vessie,
- Cancer du pancréas.
Il intervient aussi dans les cancers des voies urinaires et des reins, du col de l'utérus, de l'estomac, du pancréas. En supprimant le tabac, un tiers des décès par cancer pourrait être évité !
 
  • Tabac et maladies cardio-vasculaires

Le tabac est l'ennemi numéro un du cœur et des vaisseaux. Il favorise la survenue des accidents cardiaques et en particulier des infarctus du myocarde. Il accélère le vieillissement vasculaire et augmente la fréquence des accidents vasculaires cérébraux. 

  • Tabac et affections pulmonaires

La bronchite chronique, très fréquente chez les fumeurs, aboutit à une détérioration progressive de la fonction respiratoire. La toux, en particulier le matin au lever, et l'essoufflement à l'effort sont les principaux signaux d'alarme. Pour les personnes asthmatiques, le tabac est un facteur aggravant. 

  • Femme et tabac : des effets nocifs

Le tabac influe sur la fécondité. Il agit sur l'équilibre hormonal féminin et trouble le cycle de la femme qui fume. La pilule contraceptive ne devrait jamais être prescrite chez une femme de plus de 35 ans qui fume en raison des risques d'accidents cardio-vasculaires. Le tabac avance l'âge de la ménopause et augmente le risque d'ostéoporose. De plus, l'effet thérapeutique des traitements substitutifs de la ménopause est amoindri. 

  • La fumée des autres : le tabagisme passif

Les effets du tabagisme passif sur la santé des non-fumeurs sont de mieux en mieux connus et prouvés. Ils sont indiscutables pour les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants qui sont davantage prédisposés aux infections respiratoires et de la sphère ORL (rhino-pharyngites, otites...), à l'asthme et aux affections respiratoires chroniques. Chez l'adulte, le tabagisme passif semble être un des facteurs de risque parmi les plus importants pour les maladies cardio-vasculaires et les cancers du poumon.